MVW 2015 2nd Runway Challenge Today – My Favorite Movie!

This is the background story I provided regarding my decision to style Scarlett O’Hara the principle character in Gone with the Wind!

My favorite movie and book is Gone With The Wind (GWTW). I have read the book and seen the movie numerous times and can always watch it one more time! I think the movie is important not just for the acting and historical content but for the subtle message that women are strong and they can accomplish whatever they want to achieve. Granted the characters in the movie may not have had the strongest ethics but when you consider the time of the writing and filming it was a message rarely promoted then. I think it has served to inspire many women not just for its dresses and romance but for the courage it exemplified in Scarlett, my favorite character in the movie.
When this challenge was announced I had no choice but to style a GWTW outfit. My problem was how to create a styling that didn’t look like a costume. I turned to the internet and found inspiration from a Russian designer Ulyana Sergeenko who designed a line that was inspired by the movie. This gave me a new perspective on the styling for this concept. I struggled and tried on too many demos and bought too many bad dresses until today – the day prior to the deadline for the picture! I happened to be in Lelutka looking for some new hair and remembered they had some clothing and waiting upstairs for me was the perfect dress to represent the “southern belle* 75 years later! A little bit of tweaking and improvising resulted in the outfit that I am sharing with you in my styling of the movie Gone With The Wind.

This picture and the following group ones were taken today during the final group pose at the Miss Virtual World Runway event today!!

Challenge 2

GWTWSH_011

Styling Details:

MVW 2015 Second Runway Challenge GWTW

Gown: [Lelutka] – OMAN gown/blossom 3
Top & R,L Upper arm: GizzA – Dolly Dress [Lace]
Gloves: Fellini Couture Ramage
Hands: Slink (AvEnhance) Elegant
Hair: TRUTH HAIR Vixen
Hairbase: .:EMO-tions:. HAIRbase/curls brown
Makeup: [mock] Indigo Rochelle Venus Foxy Chili Choco
Lashes: *MC* “Falsies” Eyelash
Necklace & Earrings: Chop Zuey Wagner’s Lament
Ring: =Zenith=Cream Pearl Stone Ring – Golden
Skin: -Belleza-Grace C88 Med 2 Br & Blush
Shoes: [Gos] Boutique – Samantha

